Kenyan Athlete Logo

Sifan Hassan's new world record amid other fast times at the 2019 Monaco Diamond League

July 17, 2019
Share this
Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling, outdoor
Sifan Hassan and Laura Weightman after going 1-2

Fast times have usually been recorded in the past years at the Monaco Diamond League meeting, especially in the distance events. It was the same case this year with a world record being set in the women’s 1 mile and world-leading times being registered in the men’s 3000m steeplechase and 800m races.

The women’s 1 mile race became the much talked about race after Sifan Hassan turned it around from what had appeared to be a low profile event, given the scarcity of other big names to provide competition. It was only Tsegay Gudaf who was able to stick with Hassan after the pacesetter had stepped out. For a while, it appeared as though Tsegay was trailing Hassan and waiting to strike in the last stages of the race.

But, just after the bell, Hassan accelerated and built a big gap that kept increasing rapidly as she went for the new world record crossing the finish line in 4:12.33. Tsegay would suffer from her mistake of trying to keep up with her as two other athletes overtook her before she reached the finish line. Laura Weightman finished second in a personal best time of 4:17.60 followed by Canada’s Gabriela Debues-Stafford in a new national record of 4:17.87.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});
Amos Nijel was less than a second away from smashing David Rudisha’s world record of 1:40.91 in the men’s 800m after having ran just behind the pace setter after a very fast 400m that the pacesetter crossed it in 48:70. He continued to maintain the lead till he crossed the finish line in a world leading time of 1:41.89. Ferguson Rotich finished second in a personal best time of 1:42.54 while Amel Tuka in 1:43.62 crossed the finish line in third.

Timothy Cheruiyot appeared to have lacked the right pacemake who understood what he wanted as he looked impatient in the men’s 1500m. At one stage of the race, he momentarily overtook the pacemakers before allowing the second one to try his job again. For the second time, Jakob Ingebrigtsen ran another impressive time of 3:30.47 to finish second behind Cheruiyot. Uganda’s Ronald Masagala ran a national record of 3:30.58.

Sofiane El Bakalli won the men’s 3000m steeplechase race in a world leading time of 8:04.82. In second came Benjamin Kigen in a personal best time of 8:05.12 ahead of Ethiopia’s Getnet Wale in a new national record time of 8:05.51.

Ajee Wilson ran an impressive time of 1:57.73 to edge Goule Natoya who finished second in 1:57.90. Laura Muir in a distance that is not her specialty ran a personal best of 1:58.42 to finish third.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram